Welcome to Matagorda County Appraisal District



Search property by name, address, or property ID



Alert us to address/ownership changes ASAP to avoid mail delivery issues!




List of all the forms used at this agency



Have a questions for us?
Use this form to contact us




Access our Online Portal for
Online Appeals

Public Notice:

Our Doors are Open to the Public

(Update: July 12, 2021)


The CAD lobby is now open.


The public is welcome to use our hanging plat maps and

2- public computers to access CAD data.


For the safety of our staff and the public visiting the CAD, we ask that if you are not feeling well; please continue to use our email, phone or fax to get the service you need.


Thank You for your patience!


Within this site you will find general information about the District and the ad valorem property tax system in Texas, as well as information regarding specific properties within the district.

Matagorda Appraisal District is responsible for appraising all real and business personal property within Matagorda County. The district appraises property according to the Texas Property Tax Code and the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practices (USPAP).

Matagorda Appraisal District is responsible for the fair market appraisal of properties within each of the following taxing entities:

Matagorda County Matagorda County DD #1
Bay City Independent School District Matagorda County DD #2
Tidehaven Independent School District Matagorda County DD #3
Matagorda Independent School District Matagorda County DD #4
Palacios Independent School District Matagorda County Hospital District
Van Vleck Independent School District Palacios Area Seawall Commission District
Boling Independent School District (Wharton CAD)  
City of Bay City Port of Bay City Authority
City of Palacios Matagorda County WCID #2
Caney Creek MUD Matagorda County WCID #6
Beach Road MUD Matagorda County Conservation & Reclamation District
Coastal Plains Groundwater Conservation District  
Matagorda County Navigation District #1